Woodberry Kitchen

If you ever find yourself in Baltimore, I have two words for you: Woodberry Kitchen.  I recently visited a few dear friends in Charm City and since they had just moved in, I decided to research some brunch spots so we could enjoy a meal in between arranging furniture and hanging curtains.  The restaurant is set in a beautifully renovated mill building on the edge of Druid Hill Park in the northern part of the city.  It is the quintessential urban oasis; you feel as though you are tucked in the woods, far from the noise, traffic and crowds.  This restaurant gets an A++ in cuisine, cocktails, atmosphere and service.  In fact, it is so good that our server quit his job at UPenn to move to Baltimore and work at this restaurant.  His enthusiasm was infectious as told us how everything was farm to table and I swear I saw a twinkle in his eye as he let us know that if you can’t find it in the State of Maryland, you will not find it on the menu.  They do so much in house: sausage, breads and pastries, pickles and liquor infusions. He sent us out complimentary piping hot donuts covered with sugar and topped with plump, fresh blackberries.  My friend’s Market Berry Caipirinha was incredible and the Farmer’s Daughter (which I ordered) had perfect proportions of fresh cucumber juice, fresh watermelon juice and organic cucumber vodka.  I ordered the Biscuits and Sausage Gravy, as suggested by our waiter and it did not disappoint.  The sausage was infused with fresh sage and tasted so incredibly rich and the biscuit was the best I have ever had.  The portion was so big that I barely got through half of it, and I certainly was happy to have the rest for lunch the next day.  The Heirloom Tomato Benedict  melts in your mouth.   And for dessert? Complementary homemade ice cream flavored with local peaches and rhubarb.   I wish I had pictures to share, but I unfortunately did not have a camera and cell phone pictures would not do it justice.  You will just have to go experience this place for yourself!  I know I can’t wait to go back for dinner.  Oh- and if you are looking for a place to live in Baltimore- check out the Assembly Apartments, directly across from the restaurant.  I have no idea what they are like and this is by no means an official endorsement- but the outdoor pool and hammock lounge set in the ruins of an old mill building definitely made me wonder if perhaps Philly isn’t the only city for me…

Leave a Reply

